Some Like It Hot / Cross-dressed Chickens

29 Feb

 

It was a really good idea, in theory…

In honor of Some Like It Hot, the phenomenal comedy directed by Billy Wilder, I made Cross-Dressed Chickens. If you have never seen the movie, this is a not so obviously corny name. The movie stars Tony Curtis, as Joe, a trombone player and Jack Lemon, as Jerry, a string bass player  who witness the infamous St. Valentine’s day massacre. In fear for their lives Joe and Jerry go on the run and of course, dress in drag, get hired by an all-girl revue and take a train to Florida. Joe, falls in love (well, at least lust) with Sugar Cane, the band’s singer, played by Marilyn Monroe. Jerry, while in drag accidentally picks up a rich gentleman caller and can’t shake him. This was really quite the racy film back in 1959, featuring cross-dressing men and all.

Is the name of the dish making sense now? Not yet? Oh, yeah I gotta tell you how I made these chickens “flavour-confused”.

We shall start with my marinade:

I consists of about two tbsp of honey, a cup of balsamic vinegar, a cup and half of olive oil and a big squirt of dijon mustard.  This is part of a chicken marinade that I got from Mark’s Daily Apple blog. I left out some other ingredients that were included in the original marinade because I felt like it and because I was afraid the marinade would turn out too sweet otherwise. Ha! I poured the marinade in a big freezer bag, added six chicken thighs and let the marinade do it’s thing for about half an hour.

The chicken thighs lookin’ sexy. No? Well, neither was Jack Lemon as a woman.

Once the chicken was marinated well enough, I put them, skin side down, in a hot skillet with some more olive oil. Searing the chicken helps to 1. cook the suckers 2. make the skin crispy and 3. give me one more dish to clean later. There is smoke in the picture, very dramatic.

I chose the above shot because it shows less of my not so spotlessly clean kitchen. Don’t worry germophobes, I’m not cooking this for you!

Next, I assembled a broiler pan. I don’t have a dedicated broiler pan, but I do have a metal rack that I never use that came with my microwave, so I pull the little plastic tabs off the corners and put it over a cake pan that I have lined with aluminum foil. Voila, jacked-up broiler pan!  The chickies go on the broiler pan and get their disguises! In this case, jamaican jerk sauce. I smothered some of the spicy sauce on each thigh, cooked them for 15 minutes at 375 and then flipped them, coated the other side and cooked them for another 15 minutes.

Yeah, this picture is way out of focus, but I have been playing with my aperture settings on my camera. And this, sadly, was the best of the lot.

It maybe was not the best flavor combination, jamaican jerk and honey mustard. Too sweet. But, with some refinement, I think it could be a  good idea anyway. I like to mess with my loved one’s minds by switching up flavors in the middle of meal prep. The husband just thinks we are having some kind of honey mustard chicken when he walks in the door and smells the air. But he is so wrong, it’s going to be a hot and spicy and in this case, nauseatingly sweet trick to the ol’ olfactory sense. This is so the mafia can’t tell what you will be serving for dinner. Culinary witness protection, however, did not save  these chicken thighs from being eaten. Or from being photographed by someone still learning how to use her digital camera settings. See out of focus below.

I’m all corny-joked out now. I promise. Please, rent the movie, it is way better than I could ever talk it up. Please, make the chicken but try a different flavor combo. I beg you.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

